mitered or mitred

I love doing mitered or mitred squares in knitting.  I’ve been working on a mitred square sock blanket for what seems like forever.  Often I put it aside for a more immediate or appealling project and will forget about it for months.  Then I’ll pick it up again and have no problems remembering where I left off and what to do next.

It also helps that I’m using my all time favorite needles  It is my signature needle arts size 2.75mm stilleto tipped double point.  It isn’t that I need a dp for this project.  It is just that their dp have a little bit of texture for the needle body that makes knitting with a metal needle not as slippery.  Meanwhile the tips are slick and nicely pointed, making picking up stitches a breeze and knitting 3 tog a breeze. 

Oh yeah,  the centers of my mitered squares don’t look like I’m doing a k3tog.  They look like I’m doing a [slip 2 stitches as if to k2tog, k1, slip the two stitches on the right needle over the left needle].  But I found that when I did that, I got a less than satisfactory stitch to the right of that middle spine.  So instead I’m slipping 2 stitches as if I were going to k2tog those two stitches.  Then I slip another individual stitch knitwise.  Then I insert the left needle into the three stitches just manipulated and K3tog.  It is a little tiny knit picky point, but I like the results better.

On the sewing front, I’ve finished piecing my ombre triangles quilt.

Here is a picture of the fabric I used. 

That is a picture of the entire piece of fabric from selvedge to selvedge.  I only used that one fabric for the entire quilt.

And I only used on block for the entire quilt.  It is all half square triangles.  I saw a similar idea from the virtualquilter.com ‘s blog.   (I know I’ve posted pics of this quilt before, but I’m so in love with it that like a grandmother with pics of her new grandchild, I just have to pull out anothe picture)

I followed the tutorial on jaybird quilt’s blog about how to do mitered multiple borders.   

Lovely free tutorial at jaybirdquilts.com made it very easy.

Now all that is left to do is wait for a package to arrive from Stitch Your Art Out containing batting and more material for the backing and binding and I can free motion quilt the whole thing. 

If I were to do another one of these, I think I’d piece it from the center out, instead of in rows.  I might be able to get more points to match up if I did it that way.

Quilting and knitting makes me so happy.  I wonder if it is the same feeling people who like to golf get from a good day on the golf course.  I’ll have to find someone who quilts, knits and golfs and ask them.

About 365daysofnoro

We love to knit with Noro yarns
This entry was posted in knitting, sewing, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

