Wrong Yarn

I knitted and knitted and knitted for 6 days before I decided that I had chosen the wrong yarn for the project.

The yarn I originally chose was Rowan Yorkshire Tweed Aran. A long discontinued yarn, it was lovely, both in color and texture. And it should have been fine to knit up at 18 sts for a 4″ square, even though the ballband suggested 16 sts.

But since the texture of the pattern is so heavy the fabric became stiff and more like outerwear.

So I’ve abandoned the Rowan in favor of Berroco Vintage. I kind of feel like I’m slumming it. THe berroco Vintage is very inexpensive ($6.75 for 217 yards), and isn’t 100% wool. (Shockers!! man made fibers intermingled with the gold fleece!).

But the Vintage is drapy, shows the cables, and is very soft.

So here is what I’ve done so far.

The blue underneath is the Rowan, and the orange is the Berroco.

I think I’ll be much happier with the Berroco. The Rowan will go to a project that is less heavily textured.

About 365daysofnoro

We love to knit with Noro yarns
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wrong Yarn

  1. Leslie says:

    Alice, both are just gorgeous. I love the way the orange is knitting up though, I must say.

Leave a Reply

