context

Someone at work told me yesterday that she feels she has to distance herself from me because I’m one of the most negative people she has ever met and my negativity is soul sucking.

Needless to say, I was surprised and hurt by that comment.  So I did what any woman would do next. I asked two friends outside of work if they felt I was a negative person. Being my friends, they said no.  They think of me as easy going and pleasant to be around.

But then I got to thinking, maybe it is all about context.  Maybe just like when ecru fabric is next to a brown fabric it appears white, but next to a white fabric it appears tan.   Maybe next to the other happy worker bees I’m dour and mean, but if I were in a Kafkaesque office situation I’d be considered upbeat and positive.

Or is it me?  Am I super negative when I’m at work.  Do I turn from Dr. Jekyll into Mr. Hyde when I arrive at my workplace?

Either way this is a problem in my head and I’m sure I can work it all out by spending a day knitting and sewing.  Cotton and wool are my prozac.

Here are some pretty pictures of what I’ve been sewing lately.

I’m still working on the blooming nine patch quilt.  I’m a little unsure that the striped fabric was a good choice.   Not because of the color, but because I’m confused by how I should line up the stripe.

Here are some 16 inch blocks I made using Westminster fabrics.  There is mostly Kaffee Fassett fabrics, but some Philip Jacobs and Brandon Mably thrown in too. In my humble opinion Westminster fabrics has the same addictive qualities as Noro yarn.  It has amazing color combinations that just grab you and your attention. I’m always amazed at how a Noro yarn looks great with a simple pattern and how Westminster fabrics look great with simple blocks.

About 365daysofnoro

We love to knit with Noro yarns
This entry was posted in blooming nine patch, kaffe fassett, sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to context

  1. jenyjenny says:

    Even though I don’t know you at all, I can feel your pain at being labeled negative and soul-sucking. What a shockingly critical thing to hear from a close associate. Your quilting color combinations are beautiful and uplifting. Your reaction seemed to be analytical rather than emotional, not returning the hate but striving to understand the commentary and accept it.

    • Thank you for your compliments on the quilting.
      I’m trying hard to break the cycle of pettiness and hate. Maybe it is from years of music lessons that I’ve learned to take a criticism and use it to try to better myself rather than lash out at the commentator.
      I take comfort in your support. It is like an electronic hug.

Leave a Reply

